Saturday, November 28, 2009

This thursday is 34th Hochi Film Awards

The 34th Hochi Film Awards were announced on Thursday. This year, the title of Best Picture went to Setsuro Wakamatsu's "Shizumanu Taiyo," based on Toyoko Yamasaki's JAL-inspired novel about an airline employee pitted against company executives while he deals with the aftermath of a major plane crash.

The same film earned the Best Actor award for Ken Watanabe (50), who won the same award three years ago for his performance in "Ashita no Kioku."

Also winning for a second time was Takako Matsu (32), picking up Best Actress for her roles in "Viyon no Tsuma" and "K-20." She last won Best Actress in 2004 for "The Hidden Blade."

Meanwhile, Miwa Nishikawa's "Dear Doctor" received a total of three awards. Nishikawa (35) was named Best Director, while Eita (26) and Kaori Yachigusa (78) won Best Supporting Actor and Actress, each for several films including "Dear Doctor."

Best Newcomer awards went to Masaki Okada (20) and Hikari Mitsushima (23). Clint Eastwood's "Gran Torino" won Best Foreign Film, and the Michael Jackson movie "This Is It" received a special prize.

No comments: