Wednesday, August 11, 2010

Arashi's new album, 'Boku no Miteiru Fuukei'

Arashi's ninth original album, 'Boku no Miteiru Fuukei' was released on August 4th, selling 731,000 copies in its first week. Arashi now has a total of nine albums which have reached the top of the weekly albums ranking, with 'Boku' being their eighth consecutive album [since 2004's Iza, Now!]. Only in its first week of release, the album has already taken the top spot in the yearly albums ranking.

Arashi's first album to break the 500K mark was their compilation album 'All the BEST! 1999-2009', which was released in August 2009. The album sold 753,000 copies in its the first week and went on to sell 1.729 million copies. Since their debut in 1999, it is the first time Arashi has had two consecutive albums to break the 500K mark. Their previous record for having the highest selling first week release was their debut album 'ARASHI No. 1 Ichigou: Arashi wa Arashi o Yobu', which sold 267,000 copies when it was released in January 2001.

'Boku no Miteiru Fuukei' comes in a 2-disc set with a total of 20 songs, including solo performances from all five members. It also includes 'Troublemaker' and 'Monster', which have already taken the number 1 and 2 spots in the singles ranking for the first half of 2010.

No comments: